The History of the Oxford Arthurian Society

The Oxford Arthurian Society, Regency by Regency

written by Matthew Kilburn

This is an attempt to build a more comprehensive and more accurate history of this venerable Society, based on the minute books, account books, old termcards, personal recollections, and anything else I have happened to come across! As with any history, there is a certain amount of personal interpretation applied to the events. Most of it was written in 1996 and 1997 and reflects the author's enthusiasm of the time; there have been some emendations over the years, and further corrections and comments will be welcome.

Last updated 1 June 2003

The Story So Far:

Uther Pendragon (Paul Antrobus, 1982-1984)
Sir Galahad (Judith Bird, 1984-1985)
Merlin I (Peter Ewing, 1985-1986)
Lady Nimue (Sarah Tucker, 1986-1987)
Sir Gawain (Chris Gidlow, 1987-1988)
Queen Ygraine (Sally-Jane Humphrys, 1988-1989)
Sir Tristan (Stewart Grime, 1989-1990)
Lady Enide (Sophia Flaxen, 1990-1991)
Sir Gareth (Matt Goss-Custard, 1991-1992)
Lady Laurel (Julie Smith, 1992-1993)
King Pellinor (Andrew Jackson, 1993-1994)
Taliesin (Andrew Bell, 1994-1995)
Merlin II (Neil Thapen, 1995-1996)
Lady Lunette (Jaimella Shaikh, 1996-1997)
Dame Brisen (Hannah Means, 1997-1999)
Later Regencies, 1999-2002